photo of scarecrow looking down on the village and the wifi mast  
Welcome to the Trustee Page

Institute phone number:


Here is a link to other Lune Valley websites on a web ring. If you click on it the site you go to should have a link back to this one:

Lancashire Villages website



Wray Endowed School Trustees

Wray Endowed is an unusual primary school in North Lancashire, because it is not a church school, though it enjoys excellent relationships with both the Parish Church and the Methodist Chapel.  It has had a Board of Trustees ever since 1684 under Richard Pooley’s will.


The Trustees own the school buildings, and hold moneies of which  they invest the interest for the benefit of the pupils of the school.  These days this mainly takes the form of a grant (currently £130) to every child who leaves for the secondary school, provided that they have been at Wray School or at least two years.  There is also a fund under another the name of EG Smith account which currently awards £100 to every young person who has received the first grant, if and when they complete the first year of a degree course at a college or university.  The Trustees can with the permission of the Charity Commissioners use capital when it is really needed, and under this heading they supported the building of the additional two classrooms to the tune of £10,000.


The old instrument of trusteeship dated from 1884 (the second date over the school door) and was hopelessly out of date, since for instance it assumed that the Trustees were also the ‘School Managers’, and could hire and fire staff and dictate the curriculum.


The present Board of Trustees has been locked in a correspondence with the Charity Commissioners for the last five years, seeking to modernise the instrument of government (the mills of God have nothing on the Charity Commissioners when it comes to speed of action).  At last it is complete, accepted, and in action.  A copy will be kept by the School office for any one to read if they wish.


The important clause concerns the make-up of the Board.  There are six members: two representing the ratepayers of Wray, one each representing the ratepayers of Roeburndale, the Parish Church, the Methodist Chapel, and the School.   In addition the Board can co-opt two other members.   Each trustee holds office for five years.


The current board consists of the following people:


Mrs Janet Woodhouse
Mr. Robert Partingon
Mrs. Brenda Mickle
Mr Peter Edge
Mr. George Preece
Mr. Robert Smith
Mr. Barry Taylor
Mr. Ray Lowis
Jill Harpley, Clerk


Bob Smith


                                                                                                  Trustees of Wray Endowed School


Please let us know if you have any suggestions or if you find problems using this site, email webmaster @

Publications about the village:

The Wray Flood of 1967 - memories of a Lune Valley Community

A book written by a local historian with information from local residents

JFDI Community Broadband Wennington, a new book recently published about Lune Valley wifi networks click here to visit Lulu and buy online. (Link will open in new window)

  recent news  
Clicky Web Analytics